Quality Time

A few days ago, I freaked out. I can blog about this now, because luckily, nothing was wrong. I first noticed a lack of movement after lunch Friday- normally, baby Frank goes nuts after meals. However, that particular day and that particular meal- nothing. I tried not to dwell/moved on until I got home after work. The car ride home, sitting at Jay’s with Ollie, laying in bed eating chocolate, even busting out my guitar and serenading Franky Boy…nothing. Not a flip or flutter. So I did what everyone does but knows they shouldn’t do: I googled it. Stupid internet. I panicked. A lot. I read article after forum after WebMD until Jan got home, and by that point I’d already called my doctor. Jan calmed me down and talked to the tummy (he said he felt a kick, but I didn’t feel anything). My doctor called back and asked that I head over to the emergency room. Jan convinced me I should go (THANK YOU, DARLING), and we checked in around 8pm. They hooked my belly up to two round monitor things- one for Frank’s heartbeat and one for his movements. The nurses were just lovely, by the way. So caring and just..mom-like. They eased my mind and told me to always come with any questions or “gut feelings” like this. Made me feel less crazy. Wouldn’t you know?? As soon as she started up that machine, Frank was all, “HEY! I’M IN HERE AND I LOVE TO PARTY!” Stubborn already… So, I laid there all strapped up while they took a 20-minute reading of all the movements/heartbeats, and Jan sat in a chair trying to read. It was difficult not to notice the woman going into labor in the next room over. She was moaning and groaning and telling someone to “get away” and “don’t talk to me” – you know, normal mid-contraction talk. Jan mentioned he was taking notes (“…this wasn’t a wasted trip at all…I’m learning to just keep my mouth shut!”), and made being in a hospital less stressful. Again, THANK YOU, DARLING. We checked out- baby was fine, and my mind was at ease.

random photo: chilled out Saturday (new candle!)

PROOF: I mingled and went to a bar at 7 months pregnant! (also, Jan and I are like, super attractive and cool)

Saturday, after going shopping for Cassie’s birthday gifts (and a few things for moi), Jan and I snugged around the house, did some chores, walked the dog, got groceries, and snugged some more until it was time to go to Cass’s bday dinz (Oliver stayed with Jay&Jos). Dinner at Los Portales was hilarious. Bad service, good friends. We had a table of 10 people, and the place was packed. Service was shit because our server had like, half the restaurant to wait on. Also, getting our orders/bills correct seemed to be a difficult task. We laughed it off, though. I love hanging out with that gang. I even had a [virgin] strawberry daiquiri bc IM SO BADASS. After eats, we ventured down to the East Village to Grumpy’s for more hangs. I went along because I wasn’t terribly sleepy, and I wanted to spend more time with frandz. It’s not every weekend this pregnant lady gets out! I’m glad I went, too. Though, I must say, I don’t know if it’s my being pregnant or sober or old, but bars just seem less fun and more dirty. Maybe it was just that bar. Maybe it is just my pregnancy sobriety. Nonetheless, it was nice spending time and chatting with the girls and dudes. Plus! I was NEEDED to take photos of the night (because, if you didn’t know by now, I am the only one in our group who ever takes photos of things). Also, I’d like to think I am still fun to be around- with or without being smashed. #amiright?

Sunday, Whitney and I cooked a yummy pancake & bacon breakfast for the fam over at Jay&Josie’s. Whit, Jeff, Jan, Ollie, Jay, Jos and even Odin had some quality hangs. It was nice sitting at their giant table and eating, talking, etc. Whit and Jeff left, and we went home to relax a bit more. I must say… I am one lucky woman to be surrounded by such great love. Ollie and Jan (and all the animals) really make my life wonderful. Maybe it’s my hormones, but I have just felt so mushy about it all. Especially my bae boo, Jan. I love him wholly, and can’t imagine my life without him in it. He treats me like a queen (with respect and love and appreciation, and maybe a skosh of fear that I’ll “off with his head” or something). He’s just everything I want and need. AND HE’S MINE #maniacallaugh

my little philosopher ❤

The other day, I was talking about baby stuff with Oliver, and he had some fun questions. “How many babies can someone pop out of them?” He said, “I know I popped out of you, and baby Frank is going to pop out, too. But how many babies can you make?” I just love his way of thinking about everything #sweetest I explained that it is a surprise! And told him that some women have 10 kids! He was pretty blown away with that one. I told him that I will probably have 1 or 2 more babies after Frank comes, and that I’m hoping for a girl next. I told him he would love a sister, and asked how nice it would be if there were another lady in the house. He started to say something, and then stopped himself so I pressed for him to speak. “Oh…well, I was just wondering if she would be pretty.” I could have scooped him up and kissed him! How cute!? I assured him, “Of COURSE she will be pretty! Look at you! Look at your mommy!” He’s been asking a lot of new questions about life and such lately. I walked in on him sitting on the floor near the bottom of his bed one day- just staring at his bookshelf. I asked what he was doing, and he said something like, “Just thinking about the biggest questions. Like, how did the earth get made and what is life and all…” Yeah. I know. He’s such a thinker. Lord knows what types of questions he will come up with once he becomes a big brother. I am so looking forward to it, though.

Today, I am staying home with Ollie and animals because my car and the roads/sidewalks are covered with a thick sheet of ice. School was given a 2-hour late start and all, but the weather is just too scary for me. With my luck, I’d slip walking down my front porch steps.

Odin- being adorable and slothsluggy #puddleface

Plus, Odin hasn’t been feeling well (following me around after he threw up outside this morning), and I need to be a good dog mom. But mostly because there’s ice e’rywhere. Though, I wonder if I sent my boss this photo (->) of Odin, she would just excuse me forever bc he looks so damn pitiful.

ANYway. This week should go by quickly enough. Ollie had piano lessons last night, has gymnastics tomorrow night, and I have yoga Thursday night. AND THEN I WILL BE IN MY THIRD TRIMESTER! This pregnancy is nearing it’s end, and I am just now starting to like my giant buddha belly. Although, I will admit, even though I’ve done the whole pregnant thing before, it baffles me that my body can change this much. My skin feels so tight (especially near my ribs and tummy *duh), my calves are crampy, my belly feels super low down and droopy, and my pants feel too tight always. I still have 10+ weeks of this #yay! I shouldn’t complain too much, though. All smiles over here…

AND SELFIE #fin

2 thoughts on “Quality Time

Leave a Reply

